Pearls and Perspectives

May Apples in Perspective

May Apples in Perspective

I love that these little white flowers look so exotic, like they grow on a tropical island and smell of gardenia and vanilla. (Actually, I never smelled them so they just might!) But I didn’t have to travel to take this picture. I’ve been stepping over May Apple plants in the woods behind the house here for ages and barely even realized they had flowers until a recent morning walk when I took these pictures.
Each May Apple plant had just one flower, like it pooled all of its energy into creating one perfect bloom.
May Apples provide the perfect example of the importance of perspective and the difference it makes. From the top they look so plain and almost boring. They cluster together, with their big umbrella like leaves hiding the flower from view. A quick peek underneath reveals a single, beautiful, white flower.
I could have been enjoying them for years but I never looked close enough.
It’s easy to make a quick judgment that someone or something isn’t worth our time. It’s like judging a book by its cover and missing out on a wonderful story or writing off someone as annoying and missing out in a friendship. It’s also easy to undervalue things and people we’ve had in our lives for years and not notice what a beautiful gift we’ve been given.
I saw the flowers because I wasn’t in the woods to exercise or look for branches to chop to add to my little woodpile. I was there to be still, observe and absorb the peace. As a result I noticed many little beautiful surprises.
I’m wondering what else I’ll notice if I take the time to observe and absorb all that the Lord has provided me? I need to spend less time with the “someday I’ll have…..” and delight in gifts and stories God has for me now. I can stop and smell the roses next month, but instead of sitting around waiting for roses, it’s time to stop and peek under the May Apples!

May Apple Tops

Leave a comment